Expenses! David Davis’s pearls of wisdom

I spoke to David Davis, former shadow home secretary today. We are setting up an interview in the next few weeks – should be good.

In the course of conversation, I asked him about expenses (the Telegraph reported he claimed £5,700 to refurbish his portico). He clarified that actually the cash was for “a big door”. Then he said something that I found really interesting.

“Frankly, I’m just bored of talking about expenses.”

Struck me as an interesting remark. I wouldn’t make too much of it, certainly not before I get to chat to him for longer, anyhow!

UPDATE 23rd May: I have just read a post by Dizzy Thinks, courtesy of a link from Comment Central. I think it puts Davis’s big door on right side of a ‘necessary/unnecessary’ claim dichotomy. After all, I believe the old one was rotten.

Leave a Reply

